The Five Stages of Grief

The Five Stages of Grief

Every single day, there are bound to be millions of people grieving the loss of their loved ones. Tragedies happening that cause loss of lives, sicknesses, old age and, so much more that can take away our loved ones. Death causes grief which manifests itself in the different behaviors or changes in a person affected by it. The time period of grief can be days, months, or even years later before someone tries to move on from the bitterness of this heartache. It is understandable to keep grieving for some time, but it is not healthy to hold on to the past. There are five stages of grief, and for someone to completely let go of the pain so that they can get better is by going through each stage.

The first stage of grieving is denial which is caused by disbelief that something has happened to a person you hold dear. It is hard to believe that you would not be seeing an individual you were close to anymore. Denying the truth of the matter helps some live through the pain because it creates an illusion that their people are still there with them. As reality gradually sets in, people begin to accept their situation, and that brings us to the next stage of grief.

After a period of time questioning

Anger takes place after denying what has taken place in your family or life. People get really mad about what is happening while questioning themselves why the situation has befallen them. Anger is one of the worst stages that a person goes through because they lash out at their friends and family who are trying to help them. Feeling that the situation is out of their control makes them bitter and mad.

After a period of time questioning why you are affected by the situation, the next stage is bargaining. People try to look for impossible solutions to their grief so that they can feel better. At this point, the bereaved try to come up with ways to get back to their normal way of life with their loved ones. Another symptom of bargaining manifests itself in the form of guilt where people think that with them doing something differently, the situation would not have taken place.

The Five Stages of Grief

Depression sets in after realizing that their family or friends are not coming back. A depressed person needs attention from their family members and friends because this stage can make others suicidal. During depression, the bereaved often lose touch with other human beings by developing habits that feed their depression like overeating, sleeping all day, never leaving the house among others.

The final stage is acceptance where people realize that there is nothing they can do, but to adjust their lives without the individuals they love. After understanding that no matter what circumstances, life has to go on, they start being happier while leaving the past behind. Grieving is a process, and skipping stages can be detrimental to mental wellbeing. After all, tragedies, sickness and death happen around us every day which is a part of life.

Recommended Articles